Artist: Facts of Life
Title Of Album: Just the Facts: The Complete Kayvette Recordings 1975-1978
Year Of Release: 2008
Label (Catalog#): Southbound [CDSEW2 147]
Genre: Funk / Soul, Disco
Quality: Mp3 / FLAC (tracks +.cue,log)
Bitrate: CBR 320 kbps / Lossless
Time: 1:28:28
Full Size: 212 mb / 596 mb

This two-CD set contains not just the complete recordings the Facts of Life made for the Kayvette label between 1975 and 1978, but everything the group recorded. That includes not just everything from their two albums (1977's Sometimes and 1978's A Matter of Fact), but also their three non-LP cuts, two of them being the B-sides “If You Can Give You Can Get” and “L-O-V-E.” The other's the single version of “Did He Make Love to You?,” which, unlike the version on A Matter of Fact, had Facts of Life singer Jean Davis taking all the vocals (where the LP version had Davis and Millie Jackson splitting those chores). the Facts of Life will certainly be remembered for their “cheating” songs, as “Sometimes” (which made number three R&B and the pop Top 40) was by far their biggest hit, and “Did He Make Love to You?” one of the genre's more oddball entries (albeit with a queasy hint of domestic violence). There were a few other such risqué items in their recorded repertoire (particularly “Caught in the Act (Of Gettin' It On)”), yet on the whole it's rather mainstream soul, if with more organic and more straightforward production than was in vogue in the soul world by the late 1970s. That doesn't mean this is an outstanding set, as the songs are too ordinary, and if not for their more salacious moments, the Facts of Life might not be remembered today. But their adherence to more conventional classic-style soul arrangements at a time when those were falling out of fashion might make this more appealing to soul traditionalists than many other soul records of the era.


Disc: 1
1. Sometimes
2. Caught In The Act (Of Gettin It On)
3. Bitter Woman
4. Lost Inside Of You
5. Looks Like We Made It
6. A Hundred Pounds Of Pain
7. Uphill Peace Of Mind
8. What Would Your Mama Say
9. Givin Me Your Love
10. That Kind Of Fire
11. Love Is The Final Truth
12. If You Can Give, You Can Get
13. L-O-V-E

Disc: 2
1. Did He Make Love To You? (Album Version)
2. We Can t Hide It Anymore
3. He Ain t You
4. Do You Wanna Make Love
5. I m Way Ahead Of You
6. You Always Get Your Way
7. It s Only A Matter Of Time
8. This Ain t No Time To Sleep Apart
9. Dr Feelgood
10. Did He Make Love To You? Pts 1 & 2 (Single Version)





The post Facts of Life – Just the Facts: The Complete Kayvette Recordings 1975-1978 (2008) appeared first on Freshwap.